Tourist Trail Magic Places 2011-08-02
/gfx-user-normal/sites/Logo_Magia_Miejsc_Przekonwertowany_1.jpg

Stop 1 Zawieprzyce

We begin our journey along the magical trail in Zawieprzyce. Situated on the steep bank of the Wieprz, the castle in Zawieprzyce has
dominated over the area for centuries. This is a place from where views which captivate with their natural wealth spread out,
creating an oasis of peace and inspiration for tourists setting out on the trail. Today, picturesque ruins remain of the fantastic castle
built in the 17th century by Atanazy Miączyński – a mound crowned by an iron cross, baroque annexe from the 18th century,
baroque chapel and gate from the end of the 17th century, storeroom from the first half of the 17th century as well as ruins of the classicist
orangery from the first half of the 17th century. In the storeroom, on the land of the palace-park complex,
there is a regional room in which mementos connected with the history of the town and its surroundings are displayed.

Stop 2 Kijany

From Zawieprzyce we head to Kijany – a centre of agricultural education known not only in the Lublin region with a tradition of education reaching
back almost 100 years. The beginning of the work of the Agricultural School is associated with the year 1913. With funds from the donation,
a parcel of land was purchased in Kijany – an estate from the neo renaissance Sonnerberg palace in which the school was created.

Stop 3 Łęczna City

From Zawieprzyce via Kijany we reach Łęczna, which through the effort of the castellan of Krakow Jan Tęczyński obtained had city privileges already in 1467.
Its coat of arms includes a wild boar which, according to legend, saved residents from a threatening fire. It was mainly its advantageous location
that decided the development of the town. Along with the incorporation charter, it was given royal privileges to organise two fairs.
Now Łęczna, with 23 thousand people, a town with a colourful market past is a town of miners, a gateway to the Łęczyńsko-Włodawskie Lake District and since
1999 the capital of the Łęczna province.

Stop 4 Ludwin

The taste and smell of bread from Ludwin has no equal, it brings us back to the unleavened world of our ancestors.
Ludwin bread was entered on the list of traditional productsand has many times won in contests on a regional and national level.
Numerous successes have also been achieved by the pasta manufacturer Pol-Mak from Ludwin.
In the town it is worth seeing the historical District Office building, built in 1890, the manor from 1884 and the granary
from 1888 which once belonged to the demesne of Łęczna.

Stop 5 Dratów

Off the beaten track, among old growth linden forests, the snow white Orthodox church in Dratów is an excellent place for contemplation and calm.
The church of St. Nicholas was built according to the design of Wiktor Iwanowicz Syczugow. It is one of the few examples of religious architecture in
the Lublin region in the so-called Russian style.The mystical atmosphere of the church was the inspiration for organising
the Dratów Festival of Orthodox Songs.

Stop 6 Jezioro Piaseczno

Piaseczno Lake is the deepest of the 68 Łęczyńsko-Włodawskie Lake District lakes (approx. 39 m). With a view of the azure, clear water, with its countless
depths and golden beaches it can charm any tourist. A collection of several picturesque lakes near Łęczna make up the Łęczna Lake District Landscape Park.
These also include reservoirs with great recreational value (Piaseczno, Rogóżno, Łukcze, Krasne, Zagłębocze), as well as difficult to access ones which
are refuges for many protected species of plants and animals(Brzeziczno, Ciesacin, Bikcze, Uściwierz). The richness of the water reservoirs
ensures that great conditions for leisure can be found here by amateurs of swimming and water sports as well as anglers. After a full day of attractions,
you can re-gather your strength while watching an enchanting sunset or take part in one of the summer outdoor celebrations.

Stop 7 Cyców

The next stop is Cyców – a pace with a particular status in the history of our country. The Battle of Cyców, although taking place far from the place
where the fates of the Polish-Bolshevik war were decided, entered the history of the Polish army as an effective and quick victory of the Polish cavalry
over the dominant powers of the enemy. Since 2005, the School complex of the CRL in Cyców houses the Schoolroom of theTradition of the 7th Cavalry Regiment of Lublin.
In the exhibition hall, the history of the battle of Cyców in 1920 is presented along with the history of the 7th Cavalry Regiment.

Stop 8 Wólka Bielecka

Reconstruction of the natural dimensions of the early medieval burial grounds found near Klarow can be seen at Wólka Bielecka.
“Gród Słowiański” (Slavonic Fort) has all the characteristic elements for its type of defensive structure with earth-wooden reinforcements.
The whole settlement provides a very impressive presentation of village life that is close to historical truth as well as to Slavic art and culture.
The staff of the fort organise ongoing interesting “Meetings with Living History” which are an exceptional attraction for young and old alike.
Guests are able to be taken back to faraway times, participate in demonstrations of ancient handicrafts, old Slavonic dances and ceremonies,
demonstrations of battles and weaponry. A visit to Slavonic Fort is also a chance to taste Slavonic and Viking dishes.

pl